SAN ANTONIO (Aug. 17, 2020) – The Texas Golf Hall of Fame announced today the postponement of the 2020 Inductee Dinner event that was originally scheduled to be held at the Houston Country Club on Oct. 6, 2020.
“Due to the ever-changing COVID-19 pandemic and the need for social distancing, the Texas Golf Hall of Fame’s Board of Directors, have made the decision to postpone this year’s event,” said Texas Golf Hall of Fame Board Chairman, Reid Meyers.
Further details on a rescheduled date and induction ceremony location will be announced at a future time.
“The health and welfare of all our Inductees, their families, friends, and our sponsors are our highest priority. For the past several weeks, the TGHOF has been closely monitoring the COVID-19 situation with our partners, the City of Houston, and state officials. It is now clear that postponement is the correct decision.

“Our task ahead is to work with our Inductees, sponsors, and the Hall’s Board of Directors to determine the best option for alternate dates. We will communicate updated plans as soon as possible. Our thoughts go out to those directly affected.”
In July, the Hall announced its 2020 class of Inductees that were to be honored with a formal induction ceremony at The Houston Country Club in October. Each of the Inductees will still be commemorated on granite markers on the prestigious Texas Golf Walk of Fame at historic Brackenridge Park Golf Course, along with the future event’s festivities that will be open to the public.
2020 Texas Hall of Fame Inductees:

  • Professional Player:                                            Angela Stanford
  • Amateur Player:                                                   Hank Kuehne
  • Lifetime Achievement:                                       Verne Lundquist
  • Golf Professional / Teacher:                              Mike Wright
  • Golf Professional / Teacher:                              Dow Finsterwald, Jr.
  • Texas Registry of Historic Golf Courses:        Oak Hills Country Cl

This will be the Texas Golf Hall of Fame’s eleventh class to be inducted since the Hall’s reconstitution in 2009. Public nominations made online were voted on by living Hall members, the Texas Golf Hall of Fame Board of Directors, and designated Texas golf media members.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email