SAN ANTONIO, Texas – On Oct. 17 the Texas Golf Hall of Fame celebrated, and officially inducted, its Class of 2022 as official members into the greatest state golf hall of fame in the country. The inductees were nominated and voted upon by living Hall members, the Texas Golf Hall of Fame Board of Directors, and designated national and Texas golf media members.

The Class of 2022 Texas Hall of Fame Members are:

“Our six inductees are incredible additions to the Texas Golf Hall of Fame. The induction dinner was sold out two months prior to the event, a testament to how many people care for, and want to celebrate, this special Class of 2022.” stated Board Chairman, Reid Meyers.

From left to right: Ira Green, President of Houston CC, Ronny Glanton, Ryan Palmer, Gordon Johnson, Barney Adams, and Brad Elder

The “Gathering of Eagles” festivities included a scheduled golf tournament (which was rained out) and unveiling of the Class of 2022 marker on the Texas Golf Hall of Fame’s Walk of Fame, both at historic Brackenridge Park Golf Course (a member of the Hall’s Texas Registry of Historic Golf Courses). 

It was also proclaimed by the Mayor Pro Tem of Amarillo, Freda Powell, that Oct. 17, 2022, was officially “Ryan Palmer Day” in his hometown. 

Each inductee was then honored at a formal induction dinner at San Antonio Country Club, also a member of the Texas Golf Hall of Fame’s Historic Registry, hosted by Executive Director Katie Manor. 

Chairman Meyers provided an update on the state of the Texas Golf Hall of Fame and David Marr, III, golf broadcaster and TGHoF Board Member, moderated Q&A conversations with each inductee. Inductees were then pinned by Meyers, making each an official member of the Texas Golf Hall of Fame. 

“I am a Texan through and through”, said Palmer. “Except for my family, this is one of the greatest moments of my life.”

Johnson shared how honored he was to be inducted alongside the club he has served as its PGA head golf professional, Houston Country Club. “To be the first golf professional/teacher in the same class as his/her club is something special.”

Elder shared his appreciation for being included among the greats of Texas golf and Glanton said, “I don’t have the words to express what this means to me, I am truly humbled.”

The Lifetime Achievement honoree, Adams, added to the group’s remarks by telling the audience “I just love the game, and what the game gives back to the sport and communities.”

Event attendees included board members, prominent golf and business leaders, area club members, golf enthusiasts, and representatives from each of the Texas Golf Hall of Fame’s allied associations: Alamo City Golf Trail, Lone Star Golf Course Superintendents Association, Northern Texas PGA, Southern Texas PGA, Texas Lone Star Chapter of CMAA, and the Texas Golf Association.

In addition, a dozen Texas Golf Hall of Fame members were there to support the newest additions to the membership, including World Golf Hall of Fame members Lanny Wadkins, David Graham, and Sandra Haynie. 

There are now 150 individuals and 14 golf courses in the Texas Golf Hall of Fame.

The Texas Golf Hall of Fame will publicly announce details about a new anchor site and a future digital museum in the coming weeks and will be unveiled next year. The next Texas Golf Hall of Fame biennial induction will occur in 2024. 


Kansas City is new site of Golftec instruction and club fitting center 



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also